Authors to watch – the Granta list 2013

After the fire, a still small voice, by Evie WyldYesterday evening saw a once-in-a-decade occasion – the announcement of Granta‘s ‘Best of Young British Novelists’ 2013.

The list of twenty writers aged under 40 was first published in 1983 and included a stunning number of authors who have since become literary ‘household names’, such as Pat Barker, Julian Barnes, William Boyd and Rose Tremain. Subsequent lists have been similarly prescient (see below).

The Panopticon by Jenni FaganThis year’s list includes two authors who featured in 2003 – Zadie Smith and Adam Thirlwell – as well as six début novelists (Jenni Fagan, Steven Hall, Nadifa Mohamed, Sunjeev Sahota, Taiye Selasi  and Evie Wyld). It’s also the first of the lists which features a majority of female writers. You can find books by all the authors in stock in Westminster Libraries – click on the names below to find out where you can find them, read reviews (or add your own) and reserve yourself a copy:

Granta ‘Best of Young British Novelists’ 2013
Naomi Alderman
Tahmima Anam
Ned Beauman
Jenni Fagan
Adam Foulds
Xiaolu Guo
Sarah Hall
Steven Hall
Joanna Kavenna
Benjamin Markovits
Nadifa Mohamed
Helen Oyeyemi
Ross Raisin
Sunjeev Sahota
Taiye Selasi
Kamila Shamsie
Zadie Smith
David Szalay
Adam Thirlwell
Evie Wyld

Whit by Iain Banks - one of the authors on the 1993 Granta listBBC Radio 4’s Book at Bedtime will air readings of five short stories from the Granta authors this week.

The previous lists include some brilliant authors well worth exploring – the links below will take you to details of the books on Westminster Libraries’ catalogue.

1983 1993 2003
Martin Amis
Pat Barker
Julian Barnes
Ursula Bentley

William Boyd
Buchi Emecheta
Maggie Gee
Kazuo Ishiguro
Alan Judd
Ian McEwan
Adam Mars-Jones
Shiva Naipaul
Philip Norman
Christopher Priest
Salman Rushdie
Lisa St Aubin de Terán
Graham Swift
Rose Tremain
Clive Sinclair
A N Wilson
Iain Banks
Louis de Bernières
Anne Billson
Tibor Fischer
Esther Freud
Alan Hollinghurst
Kazuo Ishiguro
A L Kennedy
Philip Kerr
Hanif Kureishi
Adam Lively
Candia McWilliam
Adam Mars-Jones
Lawrence Norfolk
Ben Okri
Caryl Phillips
Will Self
Nicholas Shakespeare
Helen Simpson
Jeanette Winterson
Monica Ali
Nicola Barker
Rachel Cusk
Peter Ho Davies
Susan Elderkin
Philip Hensher
A L Kennedy
Hari Kunzru
Toby Litt
David Mitchell
Andrew O’Hagan
David Peace
Dan Rhodes
Ben Rice
Rachel Seiffert
Zadie Smith
Adam Thirlwell
Alan Warner
Sarah Waters
Robert McLiam Wilson

Leave a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.