24/7 Library ‘Gala Day’

David and his 24/7 Library Gala Day bunting
What excuse is there for a librarian to be hanging around the entrance to the library, chatting to anyone who’ll stop? Surely I had better things to do with my time?

I didn’t, actually. My excuse was the 24/7 Library Gala Day. I stood alongside colleagues in Paddington Library (thanks to them for their company), telling people about the 24/7 Library and all its joys: Checking the library catalogue in the e-Library; reserving and renewing; downloading e-audiobooks; using the exclusive online reference resources – my goodness, the list gets longer every time I look! It’s no wonder I was hoarse by the end of the day.

As if by magic, there was an impressive display of health information resources, including many available 24/7, just where I was standing. I had a good story to tell, and the bunting was very pretty.

Warning: similar events will happen in other libraries (look out for dates on the News & events page). The staff involved are harmless. Be kind to them.

[David]

One response to “24/7 Library ‘Gala Day’

  1. Pingback: Today we say goodbye | Books & the City

Leave a comment

