What our children are reading…

That's Not My Monster, by Fiona WattI asked my colleagues what their children are currently reading (or having read to them).
Here’s a snapshot of what the library-progeny are into:

“The young master of the house (18 months old) is currently enjoying That’s not my Monster…, by Fiona Watt and Rachel Wells – a great fun, More pants, by Giles Andreaecolourful read with chunky (and feely) pages for little fingers to explore.”

“My daughter (two years old) is crazy for Andreae & Sharratt’s More Pants. One of the rare cases where the sequel is even better than the original!”

The Night Pirates, by Peter HarrisThe Night Pirates, by Peter Harris:
My three year old son almost knows this by heart, even though there are girl pirates in it… And he loves Puff the Magic Dragon, by Peter Yarrow. I like to sing it, my son prefers it to be read. I cannot imagine why…”

The teeny weeny tadpole, by Sheridan Cain“My son, who is just about to turn four, loves reading The Teeny Weeny Tadpole, by Sheridan Cain and Jack Tickle. The story, about a tadpole who wants to (and does!) learn to jump like his mum, is fun and full of wonderful action words. The book also comes with a CD that not only provides an engaging reading of the story, but some great music as well.”

The highway rat, by Julia Donaldson“I have two daughters, aged three and nearly five.  Recently I have read them The Highway Rat, by Julia Donaldson.  She very cleverly mimics the famous Highwayman by Alfred Noyes, which I’d read to them before and which both of them liked.  They also liked the idea of this greedy rabbit getting his come uppance.”

Vesuvius Poovius, by Kes Gray“I am currently reading, and reading, again and again and again Vesuvious Poovious, by Kes Gray, to my son, who is five. He is fascinated with the story of how the toilet was invented, and the fact that it is about poo appears to be a bonus. He thinks it is brilliant.  I thought it was funny the first three times I read it. Now the joke is over…”

Mog the forgetful cat, by Judith Kerr“My daughter is five years old and she reads a lot. Mog the forgetful cat is a big favourite, my daughter loves cats and she thinks it is really funny that this cat can just forget the way in and out of the house or whether or not she has had diner that evening. She loves the way the whole family shouts: ‘Bother that cat!'”

Rainbow readers, by Diane-Elizabeth Napier“My daughter is six and has been reading various books from the Rainbow Readers Collection, by Diane-Elizabeth Napier. I like the Napier books as the texts are repeated and help children become better readers. One of my relatives saw these books and took the names to buy for her children as they were struggling with reading.”

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix, by JK Rowling“My eight year old is working her way through the Harry Potter books, and is currently nearly at the end of book five: Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix. It’s huge, and has taken ages, but she loves it, and the Harry Potter books have really helped her get stuck in and become an independent reader.”

Death bringer, by Derek LandySkulduggery Pleasant: Death Bringer, by Derek Landy
This is my eight year old son’s newest book obsession.
He thinks it is fun and exciting. It may not be the gentle fiction of my childhood, but it is a series and that means lots of reading.”

Horrid Henry books, by Francesca Simon“My son is nearly nine (and counting down the days!). He has been reading, and we have been reading together, the Horrid Henry books by Francesca Simon. He is a bit like Horrid Henry for untidiness and I am the disapproving mum, always shouting! He loves the rivalry between Henry and his brother Pete, especially if I read it in funny voices.”

There's a boy in the girls' bathroom, by Louis Sachar“My son is nine, and is reading There’s a Boy in the Girl’s Bathroom, by Louis Sachar. He thinks it is hilarious and hasn’t been able to put it down.”

“My nine year old son is re-reading the Diary of a Wimpy Kid series, by Jeff Kinney, for the second time!”

The Fire Thief trilogy, by Terry Deary“My ten year old daughter has just finished reading Terry Deary’s Fire Thief trilogy which she adored. It is an hilarious story of what happens when Prometheus breaks free from the Greek gods and travels in time to escape his punishment. She is now reading Jeannette Winterson’s Tanglewreck, another time travelling tale, which is both intriguing and beautifully written.”

Noughts and crosses, by Malorie Blackman“My daughter is aged 12 ¾… She read Noughts and Crosses, by Malorie Blackman, at school which she enjoyed. It’s about racism, told through the stories of two childhood friends.
She has also re-read Love, Aubrey, by Suzanne M LaFleur – the descriptions and writing were very enjoyable to her.”

The fear, by Charlie Higson“My 12 year old twins are reading Charlie Higson’s The Fear, and the new Lindqvist: Little Star. They both like scares, but of varying levels of sophistication.”

“My daughter, aged 13, has recently read Noughts and Crosses, by Malorie Blackman. She said ‘I loved this book, it has a very strong emotional storyline with more ups than downs – a brilliant read’.”

Of mice and men, by John Steinbeck“My 15 year old daughter is reading Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck  for school, and enjoying discussing it in her class and with her friends outside class, and with us at dinner time at home.”

Monsters through to mice and men – and everything in between!

Leave a comment

