“You write it, I’ll play it!”

Music is so much more than books, scores and CDs…

Digital piano

Digital piano for customer use - at Westminster Music LibraryWe have had a Yamaha digital piano in Westminster Music Library since November 2009. It is proving to be incresingly popular with our customers, so do book ahead if you want to give it a try. It’s free to use by our library members, and bookings can be made in person or by contacting the Music Library in advance.

We have had nearly 200 bookings since April, with many of our customers joining the library just so they can use it.

Comments from our customers:

“I am studying towards a piano diploma so need to practice every day. It’s a first rate service, knowledgeable helpful staff, excellent equipment and it [the service] keeps on improving.”

“Excellent idea having a piano in the library, I am a professional pianist so I need to keep my practising in shape. Playing the digital piano gives me the opportunity to work with the scores in the collection.”

“It’s great coming here to play [the piano]; I can play to my hearts’ content without annoying my neighbours”

Sibelius Suite

Sibelius software for customer use - at Westminster Music LibraryThe most recent addition to the services available at the Music Library is our Sibelius Suite – a dedicated pc and printer offering the world-renowned Sibelius music composition and notation software – installed in February 2010. Since then there has been a 57 % increase in daily use.

For those unfamiliar with Sibelius, our expert staff are here to help and are happy to demonstrate what this state of the art piece of kit can offer. Sibelius is absolutely free to use by our members, but like the piano it’s always best to book ahead to avoid disappointment. You can book a session in person, by telephone, or e-mail.

Some comments from library members:

“It’s extremely good having this [Sibelius] in the library. I’m using it to write the album I have been commissioned to compose. You have been absolutely fantastic”.

“I’m using Sibelius to transpose vocal scores. It’s very good and the staff are really helpful and professional”.

“You’ve been so patient, I think I’m getting the hang of this now…”

[Ruth]

One response to ““You write it, I’ll play it!”

  1. Pingback: Westminster Music Library – our next big adventure | Books & the City

Leave a comment

